In the immediate aftermath of a car crash, you may be in shock and feel confused. Your immediate concern should be getting the medical attention you need to rule out or treat injuries. It is also essential to understand your obligation to report a car accident.
These are the answers to questions you may have about how to proceed.
When is it necessary to report a car crash?
Motorists in Illinois must report accidents involving injuries and death. In addition, it is necessary to report crashes causing property damage exceeding $1,500 for vehicles with insurance coverage and $500 without coverage.
What is the procedure for reporting an accident to the authorities?
Recent changes to state statutes require motorists to report an accident to the Illinois State Police unless a police officer arrives at the accident scene. In addition, if an accident involves a state employee driving a government vehicle, it is necessary to fill out an Illinois Motorist Report and submit it to the Illinois Department of Transportation.
How much time do I have to report a crash?
Motorists must notify the Illinois State Police within 10 days of an accident to ensure its thorough investigation. However, for insurance purposes, policyholders typically have 30 days to report a crash; though individual policies may vary.
Is there a penalty for not reporting a car crash in Illinois?
Failure to report a car crash to the police in Illinois could lead to the suspension of your driver’s license, a monetary fine and a prison sentence. You may also face felony charges if you flee an accident scene.
You may not know what you should do after a car crash in Illinois. However, you can turn to law enforcement for guidance to help you avoid additional complications.